Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reading & Signing with Paul Luikart

January 18 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

 

Please join us in welcoming Paul Luikart back to Star Line Books for a reading and signing of his most recent book, Brief Instructions.

Brief Instructions by Paul Luikart

In the midst of lives punctuated by blood and fear, mercy arises in surprising places. Turtle glimpses what could still be, even after he shoots himself in the head. Neal owes money to bad men, but a noisy bird in a tree saves his life. Marnie loves Trig and she’ll get them from Chicago to Seattle no matter the cost.

The flash fiction pieces in my new chapbook Brief Instructions reveal characters struggling like their lives depend on it for a second chance. Fans of Nelson Algren, Raymond Carver, Denis
Johnson, Annie Proulx, and Jess Walter will appreciate the collection. It was released on October 27 th 2017 by Ghostbird Press.

About Paul Luikart
Paul Luikart is the author or the short story collection Animal Heart (Hyperborea Publishing, 2016) and the flash fiction collection Brief Instructions (Ghostbird Press, 2017.)

His work has appeared in Barrelhouse, Cheap Pop, Chicago Quarterly Review, Curbside Splendor, Foliate Oak Magazine, Foundling Review, Hobart, Johnny America, The Monarch Review, Mojave River Review, New World Writing, Pacifica Literary Review, Pithead Chapel, Relief Quarterly, The Rampallian, Santa Fe Writers Project, Spartan, Split Lip Magazine, Sixfold Magazine, Synaesthesia, Two Hawks Quarterly, Vector Press, WhiskeyPaper, Word Riot, and Yalobusha Review. He has been nominated for Queen’s Ferry Press’ Best Small Fictions collection, Sundress Publication’s Best of the Net anthology, and a Pushcart Prize.

His MFA in creative writing is from Seattle Pacific University. He and his family live in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Details

Date:
January 18
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Organizer

Star Line Books

Venue

Star Line Book
1467 Market St., Suite 106
Chattanooga, 37402
+ Google Map
Phone:
(423)777-5629
Website:
starlinebooks.com